GPSnaps icon

GPSnaps v 2.0

GPSnaps: Pocket Survey Assistant

Start by creating a project:  enter a name appropriate for the project and hit the 'Start new' button.

Once you have created projects and they contain data they will appear in the saved project list.  you need to record at least one point before the project is saved.

Select one of the saved projects and hit the Start button to load the previously save data, from there you can view, append and go on to export the project.

Loaded projects show the recorded points on the map view.  you can scroll and zoom the map to explore the recorded data.  You can also view the map in satelite mode.

The project is waiting for you to add data.

Position yourself in the location where you would like to a add new point and press the green point arrow or photo point button.   A new pin or photo pin will be added to the map at your current location.

Position yourself at the next location and press the green arrow to record a second point.

Repeat the process untill you have added all the points you need.  

When you switch on the classification, the categories will appear as options when you click the point or the photo point button, 

GPSnaps is set to use the iCloud by default (recomended), and the photographs and the data CSV will be saved to a 'GPSnaps Container' in a Project folder on the iCloud Drive and will be synced across all your iCloud connected devices if you have your icloud set up that way.

One nice feature to iCloud saving is that the data is updated on the fly, so if you were to link the data file to a GIS system for example, the points will be updated as you record them.

You can switch iCloud saving off in the app settings if you prefer GPSnaps to save to the device memory.  if you do that the Photographs will have be saved in Albums, with the name of the project, into your photo library,  and can be accessed in the normal way.

Click the green Edit & Export button to view a list of the data points in the current project. 

Each line in the table is a single data point and shows the linked photo if one is present.  The points can be swiped to the left to delete them.  but be aware that once deleted they cannot be recovered.

if iCloud saving is switched off data can also be exported at this time.  The data will be collated into a CSV ( comma seperated values) file and can be sent to the iCloud or as an email attachment to any email address you choose.

Tutorial

 

From the settings page you can set up the classification categories,  set the timer interval and change some of the other map settings.

You can edit the category names and switch them on or off from here.